Flesh-Eating Zombies Are People Too

rot and ruin editing.jpg  Thursdays on Instagram I like to share thriller recommendations, and today I thought I’d take a little different approach to the subject. Because a zombie novel totally counts as a thriller, in my opinion.

I’m not sure when I became so interested in zombies (when I was a teenager I was all about the vampires), but in the past few years I’ve read my share of novels featuring the living dead. And I can say unequivocally that the Rot & Ruin series by Jonathan Maberry is my favorite. They have twists and turns, interesting characters, and a lot of action. I devoured the first three books, but have yet to read the last one, simply because I don’t want it to be over! They’re also YA, so if you’re a little squeamish about the whole zombie thing, you don’t have to worry about them being too graphic.

At its core, this is a story about a teenager trying to find his place in the world. It just happens to be a zombie-infested world. Fifteen year old Benny Imura reluctantly joins his older half-brother Tom in the zombie-killing business because he can’t hold any other job. Tom, by the way, is a badass with a katana, but he teaches Benny more than just how to kill zoms. Throughout the series Benny learns what it really means to be human, and confronts the reality that sometimes the living are more terrible monsters than the dead. If you find that hard to believe, just wait ’til they get to Gameland.

Do you enjoy zombie stories? If so, leave your recommendations in the comments, I’d love to check them out!

Leave a Reply

