My First OwlCrate Unboxing & Review

20160322_151721.jpg

Confession time first: before I joined Bookstagram, I didn’t even know that there was such a thing as book subscription boxes. Or such a wide variety of them, all super tempting to booklovers such as myself. But Bookstagram can be blamed for a whole set of problems, which I won’t go into right now. Another confession: I find it extremely difficult to make decisions, especially decisions that require any form of commitment. So how on earth would I choose between the dizzying array of book boxes out there?

Enter OwlCrate, who won me over with the March theme of Writer’s Block (something I know quite a bit about), and the option of buying a one month nonrecurring gift subscription. (A handy option to keep in mind if you’re anything like me and want to take a little stress out of purchasing.) I was super excited to open my box when it arrived and now I’m super excited to share the contents with you!

20160322_105800.jpg

First off, every OwlCrate includes one of these cute little cards, which details the contents on its back. But I think it’s really attractive enough to be used as decoration itself.

20160322_105904.jpg

Next were these awesome little pins from Bookworm Boutique, who makes some really cool designs that I’ve seen all over Bookstagram. This does make me think I may need to start a pin collection, though.

20160322_105845.jpg

Possibly the coolest thing in this box were these banned book socks from Out of Print. I consider them a useful item as well, since I really don’t own a lot of socks.

20160322_105935.jpg

My personal favorite items were this ‘quill’ pen and book of writing prompts. It’s kind of like a journal/writing aid, and I’m doubting whether I’ll actually be able to bring myself to write in it!

20160322_105827

Also included was a quote from the book, printed on heavy card stock paper, and a letter from the author, which I think is a thoughtful touch.

20160322_105812

And now we come to the centerpiece of the box: the book. The Serpent King is about a teenager in small-town Tennessee and his two best friends, on the eve of their graduation. I have mixed feelings about this book, mostly because contemporary YA is way out of my comfort zone. But I’ve heard really good things about it, so I’m going to keep an open mind and possibly put it on my tbr next month.

So that’s it for my first-ever OwlCrate. I think I might keep shopping around before I decide whether I want to commit to permanently joining a subscription box. I just really have a problem with other people picking out my books, I’m a little controlling that way. But I’d definitely recommend OwlCrate, especially if you’re a young adult fan, they do a good job picking out the items, and the books they include are ones people rave over.

Did you order the OwlCrate this month? I’d love to hear what your favorite things were, and any thoughts you have about this book!

 

2 thoughts on “My First OwlCrate Unboxing & Review

  1. Oh wow I had never heard of these type of crates! Looks interesting 🙂
    Also my friend gave me a copy of that prompt book, it’s full of inspiration however I couldn’t bring myself to write in it either

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

